Skip to content

Challenge Accepted!

September 6, 2011

So you may know that I have a sister. Her name is Kat, and she signs her blog posts. Also she has a blog.

Anyway, Yesterday she posted this on her blog. Little did she know, But I’ve been trying to make things recently as well. As a substitute teacher I’m not working every day, and on the days I don’t work, I “earn my keep” with myself by doing some writing.

So I’ve decided to make this little personal challenge of Kat’s into something more exciting, and with a little accountability as well. Because, Kat, (yes I’m talking to you directly now, everybody else has already gotten bored) the best way to do something like this is with accountability. I should know. I did a “review something every day” video blog that lasted a couple months at best.

So here’s what I propose: It’s a joint effort. Every dingle day, you and I each post something to our respective blogs that we created that day. It can be whatever, but it has to be complete. Ongoing projects only count for the day they are done, or significant milestones along the way. If you finish a sleeve, that counts, and if I finish a scene that counts. But you have to be able to say “I made this” rather than “I’m making this.” Also to keep it interesting, I propose keeping score. Any day where something is not posted by midnight is worth a point for the other person. Whoever has the least points whenever we get together (typically holidays and the like) has to buy the other person dinner, at which point the points reset.

For those of you who aren’t my sister, you get to see two things:1)  a public account of cool things being made (we both make cool things) and 2) a pair of siblings keep in contact in a new and interesting way. When I went off to college something like 7 years ago, I didn’t see my sister nearly as much, and we grew apart because of it. We live in the future, and so the time to change that is now! Also with a bit of friendly competition.

But Kevin! I hear you cry. (Bonus points if you actually said it.) What about today? What have you made for us today? You were subbing all day and surely you didn’t have time to do something creative? That’s where you’re wrong! I wrote some Haiku, here they are:

Two students and me
A great classroom ratio
Being “at risk” works!

They all have to go
Only one hall pass to share
Modern Scarcity

Where is Wyoming?
I looked for it on a map
Caution: No state here

Song stuck in my head
The Mesopotamians
They might be giants

History is made
There are no grand periods
Banish all timelines

So that’s the thing I made today! What about you Kat?

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Love it and I love the two “creators”. You both need to add a facebook “like” button so I can hit that!

Leave a comment